The Glengarry News
Glengarry 24-7

Prevost quits

publisher Dec 7, 2021 - 8:59am

Frank Prevost has resigned from the office of Mayor for the Township of South Glengarry, effective immediately. Prevost has been on an unpaid leave of absence since June 11, 2021 for a six-month term, which was due to expire on December 11, 2021.

He is to stand trial in 2023 on charges of sexual assault and child luring.

South Glengarry Council will be holding a Special Council Meeting on Thursday, December 9 at 4:30 p.m. to declare the Mayor’s office vacant and to review options for filling the vacant position. Pursuant to Section 263 of the Municipal Act, a vacancy in the office of a member of Council can be filled by an appointment of a person who has consented to accept the office, or a by-election can be held.


McDonell stepping down

publisher Nov 23, 2021 - 1:47pm

Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry MPP Jim McDonell has announced he will be retiring June 1.

“I have truly enjoyed serving as our community’s MPP for the past decade, and I have been blessed by a wonderful family, especially my wife Margie and a group of colleagues who have supported me in my work,” said Mr. McDonell. “I am proud of what we have been able to accomplish locally and across Ontario under the leadership of Doug Ford with a great team at Queen’s Park. However, the time has come to pass the torch and to enjoy the next chapter of my life closer to home.”

A former South Glengarry mayor, he has been MPP since October 6, 2011.


Status quo

publisher Sep 21, 2021 - 7:54am

How you voted

Results from the September 20 federal election

Glengarry-Prescott-Russell (Percentage of popular vote in brackets)

Liberal (incumbent) Francis Drouin 27,926 (45.3)

Conservative Susan McArthur 20,875 (33.9)

NDP Konstantine Malakos 6,652 (10.8)

People's Party Brennan Austring 4,222 (6.9)

Green Party Daniel Lapierre 1,263 (2.0)

Free Party Canada Marc Bisaillon 409 (0.7)

Independent The Joker 287 (0.5)

Total number of valid votes: 61,634

Voter turnout 64.64%

Stormont–Dundas–South Glengarry

Conservative (incumbent) Eric Duncan 28,101 (55.5)

Liberal Denis Moquin 11,886 (23.5)

NDP Trevor Kennedy 5,582 (11)

People's Party David Anber 3,874 (7.7)

Green Party Jeanie Warnock 1,156 (2.3)

Total number of valid votes: 50,599

Voter turnout 59.06%

Hospital CEO leaving

publisher Sep 17, 2021 - 3:02pm

Michael Cohen, the president and CEO of Hôpital Glengarry Memorial Hospital (HGMH) in Alexandria, is leaving the post to work at the Perth and Smiths Falls District Hospital. His last day at HGMH will be October 29. A search for a replacement will commence this week. Mr. Cohen had been CEO of the HGMH since September of 2018, when he succeeded Linda Morrow who retired in June of that year.